About GATE Exam


GATE exam (Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering) is a computer-based standardized test conducted at the national level in India with an aim to examine the understanding of various engineering and science undergraduate subjects. Qualifying in the GATE exam is a mandatory requirement for the engineering graduates who are seeking admissions and/or financial assistance to the Postgraduate Programs like Master's Doctoral with the Ministry of Education (MoE) and other Government Scholarships / Assistantships that are subject to the admission criteria’s of the institutes.

GATE exam results are also used by some of the Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) for their recruitment and by several other universities in India and abroad for admissions. Some of the PSU Companies and research organizations that use the GATE exam results for providing jobs include ONGC, NTPC, GAIL, HPCL, PGCIL, BHEL, BSNL, HPCL, NHPC, BARC, DRDO, and more.

GATE examination is an all India exam that’s administered and conducted in eight zones across the country jointly by the following institutes on behalf of National Coordination Board-GATE, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education (MoE), Government of India.

  • IISc (Indian Institute of Science)
  • Seven Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) at IIT Roorkee, Delhi, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Bombay

In the last couple of years, GATE exam has been opened to the international students from the following countries as well,

  • Bangladesh
  • Nepal
  • Sri Lanka
  • Ethiopia
  • United Arab Emirates